(with thanks to Martin Spicer for the report)

In the week leading up to the rally the weather was wet and windy, but on the Friday morning when Ian Hubbard arrived at at our Pokeno farm to pick me and my bike and trailer up it was sunny. We then went back to St Helliers to get Ian’s Triumph T120.  We had a good trip up to Whangarei. Saturday morning dawned sunny but breezy. After a cupper plotter Martin Salter gave the briefing to the 49 starters.  There were 18 Auckland members taking part.

We set of westwards on great country roads.  We then circled our way up and crossed over SH1 and passed through the township of Hikurangi,  then traveled up and down Mt Tiger – a great biking road. We then followed the water front road, crossing the new road bridge and finished the morning ride at the clubrooms for lunch.

After a very good lunch, we set of west on another circular route but now the rain and wind

arrived.  We stopped at a members property to veiw his collection of British and Amercian cars in varing states of restored and unrestored condition. The owner will certainly have his hands full for many decades. We finished back at the club rooms around 3.30pm, the rain still coming down. Time for a hot shower and then we were of to the Kamo club for the prize giving dinner. We had a very good dinner after the prize giving. Our Auckland members did well in the results.



Don Green won the Veteran class with his 1916 Triumph H.

Dave Williams won the Vintage class on his 1928 Harley.

John and Jill Williams 2nd PV in their 1937 Morgan.

Warwick and Trish Darrow won the post war class on their 1953 Mac Velocette.

John Hartles 2nd in P60, Ian Hubbard 3rd P60.

Martin Spicer won the P80 class with his 1985 Honda CBX 550, John Comer was 2nd on his 1983 BMW R80ST.

The overall winner was Auckland member Warwick Darrow.

Well doneWarwick and Trish. Hard luck prize went to John and Angela Bryant  They only got as far as the gate post of the club rooms, when their Velo died.  John worked on the bike and finally got it going at lunch time. They completed the afternoon ride with no problems.

Northland’s Martin Salter did a great job plotting his first ever rally.

Martin Spicer


Velo LE wins Auckland Rally

Register member Tony Vaughan won the Annual Auckland Vintage C.C. (motorcycle section) Rally on his Mk 3 L.E. Velocette.
His well presented and maintained Bike never missed a beat and he informed that the whole 8 horsepower was in constant use. The course was 118 miles long and held in windy and wet conditions around the Kaiaua/Morrinsville area. This is the second year in succession a Velocette has won the event. In  2015  Paul and Robyn Muir won on there 1948 Mac, with a 53 Mac in second place. There were 40 entries for the Rally.  Congratulations Tony.

Velo GTP wins the Taupo to Napier Mail Run.

Held in March 2016.

The 27th running of the Vintage mail run which is open to girder fork machines, with either a sprung seat or plunger suspension attracted 51 Bikes. The ride started at the Taupo Marina and went all the way to Napier over a distance of 142km. The ride celebrates the fact that mail was often delivered by motorcycle in the early days, as the road became impassable to four wheels. The winner was Peter Hargroves on his very neat and restored 1936 two stroke GTP Velocette. Peter received the Tin Man Trophy, a memorial to the late Allan Wakefield, who made replica tinware for many classic bikes in New Zealand. Also New Zealand Velocette Racer and Guru, Phil Price rode his pre war MSS and received the award for the longest ridden bike.

Warwick Darrow.